40e972023f7ec97a17b9794ab849df5f
1

Any opinion about gluten free/low carb bread?

by (151)
Updated about 5 hours ago
Created March 24, 2011 at 8:29 PM

Just wondering, I'm trying to go gluten-free, and a piece of toast w/my eggs is one of my favorite things. I've purchased Julian Bakery Smart Carb 1 bread for years. Now trying to go gluten free I was stumped. Most-all GF breads are extremely high in carbs. I now discovered that Julian Bakery has a GF-LC (very) bread coming out in a few weeks. Here is the nutrition info: Fresh ground alkaline grains of millet; Organic buckwheat, GF; teff; eggs; chicory root (inulin); fresh ground flaxseed (non-GMO); whole arrowroot flour; extra-virgin olive oil; sea salt; purified water. 1 slice= 73cal., 10 carbs, 7 fiber & 10 protein

9bf0cd801ab042614fe6c9a3adbedd2d
95 · April 23, 2013 at 4:28 AM

Against the grain is the bomb! Had to stop eating it because it is so addictive. Thank goodness for paleo.

62d6da100cb44c68a597f64e06797efb
35 · August 07, 2012 at 5:53 PM

Does this mean you'll send it to me? :)

C0c839648b31512515daaffe8e4e9ad1
468 · August 07, 2012 at 1:29 AM

What are egg muffins? I want to do things like this but I am worried about heating nuts. They supposedly make something bad that sticks in your body.

193f00d53ebcb13940c7a55afc78ad17
1260 · August 06, 2012 at 9:20 PM

How is the texture and flavor of the tuber breads that you've made?

98bf2ca7f8778c79cd3f6c962011cfdc
24271 · July 17, 2012 at 2:33 AM

Sherry you might try Jimmy Moore's site. Or try Lowcarbfriends.com.

C1507d5d6a7b46e0848e9c8cc54a3f46
0 · July 16, 2012 at 4:48 PM

So, where can I get a copy of the stats from the independent lab that analyzed the Julian Bakery lo-carb/GF breads? I keep hearing that, but never see the name of the lab, nor, what they came up with. Thanks! Sherry Bowman

C1507d5d6a7b46e0848e9c8cc54a3f46
0 · July 16, 2012 at 3:49 PM

Where can I get a copy of the independent labs report on Julian Bakery bread? I've heard that claim before, but have yet to see the results of "their" testing, or who they are. Thanks... Sherry Bowman

691f120a3e7a1a036845d105d86c99a3
3651 · March 27, 2011 at 8:52 PM

i never said mark was consistent, haha, just posted the link because it has a bunch of primal friendly food ideas that i think the asker is sorta searching for.

A89f9751a97c3082802dc0bcbe4e9208
13983 · March 25, 2011 at 8:04 PM

LOL! Thanks for the "page"!

E2b9c679315c7c9c7265783dde89f350
1303 · March 25, 2011 at 5:30 PM

You're welcome! If you need any *technically* primal or paleo baked goods recipes, I recommend checking out LifeAsAPlate.com - she has some awesome recipes that almost always turn out good. She even has a grain free bread recipe: http://www.lifeasaplate.com/2010/12/16/the-best-grain-free-gluten-free-sandwich-bread-in-the-history-of-man/

7e746be2f0e550a8cd7df881322ae705
18701 · March 25, 2011 at 4:57 PM

((( Paging Gilliebean )))) Hey lady, I'm sorry for butting in on this thread, but I was hoping you would respond to Deidre over on this thread http://paleohacks.com/questions/29248/calories-and-enough-protein/29254#29254 about protein. I know you've had some different results and I think it would be helpful to her to hear what's worked for you!

84666a86108dee8d11cbbc85b6382083
2399 · March 25, 2011 at 11:31 AM

Similar here. Went from eating a pound of bread per day to not eating bread for a year (and counting).

9e7039b63b656582f66d84c5255b436d
1132 · March 25, 2011 at 9:21 AM

I don't understand that page, the name in the address is low carb substitute, but the title on the actual page is "primal substitutes" most of the recipes are actually high carb - sweet potato chips.

40e972023f7ec97a17b9794ab849df5f
151 · March 25, 2011 at 3:56 AM

OK, to all above... thanks from the bottom of my soon-to-be Pure Paleo Heart. If the "bread" isn't Paleo.... then I'll just check Mark's Daily Apple for "substitutes", and try to wean off of that too!!! I so appreciate the time you take to reply. Awesome!!!

Total Views
17.2K

Recent Activity
Bf57bcbdc19d4f1728599053acd020ab

Last Activity
40D AGO

Followers
0

Get Free Paleo Recipes Instantly

20 Answers

8c2ed9a35f6c4d35a3552a13ddabec8d
6
525 · March 24, 2011 at 8:46 PM

I would seriously advice you to go without bread and up your protein and fat content. You might end up eating too many carbs and putting on fat by eating bread; also fruits and vegetables are far superior in terms of nutritional carbohydrates than things like bread, pasta, rice etc. This isn't really helpful to your question but its just what I think.

Carbohydrate recommendations:

Remember: 0 - 50g = rapid weight loss - ketosis; 50 - 100g = weight loss; 100g - 150g = recommended amount for stable weight - optimal levels; above 150g may cause you to put on weight; the average westerner eats around 300g of carbohydrates - crazy!

Also, bear in mind that if you have quite an active lifestyle you might need to up your starch content above the recommended amount and things may vary from day to day, just bear these figures in mind and don't obsess over it too much.

691f120a3e7a1a036845d105d86c99a3
5
3651 · March 24, 2011 at 9:01 PM

The basic answer is that this isn't really a paleo food. You could try Mark's Daily Apple for some psuedo-paleo grain replacing treats... http://www.marksdailyapple.com/low-carb-substitute/

I wouldn't eat this stuff everyday or base my diet around it. Ending the toast habit would be my advice/opinion.

691f120a3e7a1a036845d105d86c99a3
3651 · March 27, 2011 at 8:52 PM

i never said mark was consistent, haha, just posted the link because it has a bunch of primal friendly food ideas that i think the asker is sorta searching for.

9e7039b63b656582f66d84c5255b436d
1132 · March 25, 2011 at 9:21 AM

I don't understand that page, the name in the address is low carb substitute, but the title on the actual page is "primal substitutes" most of the recipes are actually high carb - sweet potato chips.

98bf2ca7f8778c79cd3f6c962011cfdc
4
24271 · March 24, 2011 at 10:46 PM

Just FYI, Julian Bakery's labels are completely inaccurate. Several years ago some in the low carb community were questioning their supposed facts and had the bread tested at an independent lab. After this was discovered many of the low carb vendors stopped selling their products or refused to start. IF you look at the ingredients its simply not possible to produce the macros they are claiming. Anyway, I wouldn't buy GF or any bread from them because their business is based on deceit.

Can you try half a slice of GF bread for a while and then work on coming up with something else to accompany your eggs in the morning? Maybe an coconut flour or almond-based muffin? Maybe make egg muffins to start with so you have the same finger-food experience?

C0c839648b31512515daaffe8e4e9ad1
468 · August 07, 2012 at 1:29 AM

What are egg muffins? I want to do things like this but I am worried about heating nuts. They supposedly make something bad that sticks in your body.

98bf2ca7f8778c79cd3f6c962011cfdc
24271 · July 17, 2012 at 2:33 AM

Sherry you might try Jimmy Moore's site. Or try Lowcarbfriends.com.

C1507d5d6a7b46e0848e9c8cc54a3f46
0 · July 16, 2012 at 4:48 PM

So, where can I get a copy of the stats from the independent lab that analyzed the Julian Bakery lo-carb/GF breads? I keep hearing that, but never see the name of the lab, nor, what they came up with. Thanks! Sherry Bowman

C1507d5d6a7b46e0848e9c8cc54a3f46
0 · July 16, 2012 at 3:49 PM

Where can I get a copy of the independent labs report on Julian Bakery bread? I've heard that claim before, but have yet to see the results of "their" testing, or who they are. Thanks... Sherry Bowman

Bf57bcbdc19d4f1728599053acd020ab
3
5043 · August 07, 2012 at 9:25 AM

My advice FWIW is to revamp your likes and dislikes, and don't try to recreate your current eating with "paleo substitutes". They'll never measure up and you will still feel deprived. Have you tried saut??eing a bed of onions/grated sweet potato/grated zucchini and then eating your eggs over that? It's amazing. Much tastier than any bread I ever ate and chock full of nutrients.

531db50c958cf4d5605ee0c5ae8a57be
2
8858 · March 25, 2011 at 3:54 PM

No lecture from me on eating this stuff if you want to (personally, I don't but I did when I first went gluten-free). The best brand of gluten-free bread products, in my opinion, and I say that it is best by a very long margin, is Against the Grain. Made from mozzarella cheese and tapioca flour. It is not a low carb food.

9bf0cd801ab042614fe6c9a3adbedd2d
95 · April 23, 2013 at 4:28 AM

Against the grain is the bomb! Had to stop eating it because it is so addictive. Thank goodness for paleo.

7402630da1d0b9bb97d614fe402d032a
2
290 · March 24, 2011 at 9:52 PM

I am finding the longer I am on Paleo the less I crave bread. Ok the smell still attracts me but I have been very happy to resist it even when right in front of me people are stuffing their faces with it and talking to me. Just find something else that makes you happy like sprinkle some nutmeg or cummum on your egg and enjoy a new taste sensation.

I did eat bread at my brother's wedding but I vomited later. That cured me good!

03fa485bfd54734522755f47a5e6597e
2
3914 · March 24, 2011 at 9:27 PM

We (mostly my wife) tried the gluten-free bread thing for a while, experimenting with different brands of mixes (all nearly as expensive as precooked loaves) and making our own with various substitute flours. For the most part, I don't think it's worth the trouble. At best, you get something like a heavy sandwich bread with very little flavor, and most mixes have other undesirable ingredients like soy or vegetable oil. I don't suppose it'd really be harmful to have a loaf every few weeks or months, but that still means learning to live without bread most of the time. Once you get used to that, bread just seems like a hassle.

My personal guess is that if the general public were to switch to some other starch -- and keep eating pasta, bread, etc. at every meal, just from a new favorite grain -- in a few generations or less, people would start showing up with intolerances to the new starch. Maybe not exactly the same problems that gluten presented, but some intolerance that wasn't common until people started eating it in as large amounts as they currently do wheat.

Anyway, as you noted, most wheat replacements increase the carbs, if anything. If you need to keep carbs low (and 50g is high for some of us), you'll probably have to do as others said and just give up the bread. Bacon isn't as handy for mopping up egg yolk, but practice helps. A patty of ground pork (make your own breakfast sausage by adding sage, salt, and pepper) works pretty well for that too.

510bdda8988ed0d4b0ec0b738b4edb73
1
20908 · November 23, 2012 at 3:28 PM

I am totally against all fake or paleoified foods. Eat real food in the form it is in nature. That means no nut flours or Paleo-baking. Get your palette adjusted so that you appreciate real food.

A89f9751a97c3082802dc0bcbe4e9208
1
13983 · March 25, 2011 at 4:02 PM

If you need the occasional bread; I suggest Rice Bread.

When my husband wants bread, I get him Food for Life's gluten-free Rice Bread.

This is not spam. ;)

A89f9751a97c3082802dc0bcbe4e9208
13983 · March 25, 2011 at 8:04 PM

LOL! Thanks for the "page"!

7e746be2f0e550a8cd7df881322ae705
18701 · March 25, 2011 at 4:57 PM

((( Paging Gilliebean )))) Hey lady, I'm sorry for butting in on this thread, but I was hoping you would respond to Deidre over on this thread http://paleohacks.com/questions/29248/calories-and-enough-protein/29254#29254 about protein. I know you've had some different results and I think it would be helpful to her to hear what's worked for you!

9e7039b63b656582f66d84c5255b436d
1
1132 · March 25, 2011 at 9:25 AM

I'm going to try making a bread with ground cauliflower, egg whites and plantain flour, it will be reasonably low carb and gluten free. See how it goes. I've already made breads by mashing potato / parsnip / sweet potato / beetroot and binding with egg whites and plantain flour with relative success, those are carbs though.

193f00d53ebcb13940c7a55afc78ad17
1260 · August 06, 2012 at 9:20 PM

How is the texture and flavor of the tuber breads that you've made?

B62c2f4e8c893aceb037fdd0b0100cec
0
0 · May 07, 2013 at 12:35 AM

UDI'S CHIA MILLET. GLUTEN FREE BREAD!!! LOOK IT UP..... BEST BY FAR!

1e07a8373e4e400110deab1185ff351c
0
0 · March 22, 2013 at 7:26 PM

agreeing with laurie and cathy. it's not good. you won't feel like you've eaten bread, you'll feel like you've eaten wet sand. i've made paleo zucchini bread that had a great flavor and texture. It might go well with some kind of a sandwich, but i've never tried it... http://www.primalprimos.com/paleo-zucchini-bread/

Daeb8e9186449260f2fcf1871633fa25
0
0 · February 26, 2013 at 7:23 PM

I'm going to agree with Cathy. I purchased the "Paleo" bread (3 loaves coconut and one almond) from Julian and it was beyond awful. The smell alone was hard to get by and the taste was worse. It was not "light and fluffy" as claimed. It was dry and heavy and awful and just stupid expensive for what it was. I have two loaves frozen in my freezer if anyone wants them!!!! (By the way, they pull down any unflattering "review" posted on their site).

193f00d53ebcb13940c7a55afc78ad17
0
1260 · August 06, 2012 at 9:04 PM

I put together a recipe a while back for a ZERO carb "Pork Bread" that is based on pork rinds. It's not super 'bread like', but rather more of a pita/flat-bread. It was tasty and SUPER filling. I made a 8" pizza with one and struggled to get half way through it. The recipe is fast to make, and with a little tweaking, could likely make a super low/zero carb pancake too.

http://paleohacks.com/questions/120391/pork-bread-paleo-but-not-in-spirit#axzz22nj9JyWt

Ac179eeaba81d2718c645ba18c79e405
0
0 · August 06, 2012 at 8:57 PM

I ordered the Paleo Bread from Julian Bakery. I have 4 loaves of almond and 1 loaf of coconut. They are horrible. I spent over $50.00. I would be happy to give them away.

62d6da100cb44c68a597f64e06797efb
35 · August 07, 2012 at 5:53 PM

Does this mean you'll send it to me? :)

4164a77c7ccf4839ec7f1e665d27cc6d
0
1085 · July 10, 2012 at 11:55 PM

Looks like Julian Bakery came out with a new product called "Paleo Bread" . The ingredients label looks legit but if it looks too good to be true, it probably is. I'm skeptical of Julian Bakery's claims after reading Shari's post above. I'll pitch in for some independent testing if someone wants to coordinate.

29686e6867f73a7deee8bf0578cb2107
0
68 · March 26, 2011 at 2:46 AM

After doing low-carb for years with two slices of buttered Oroweat low-carb toast every morning, eventually I cut out 99% of the wheat/bread. When I really "need" some base for fried eggs or almond butter or something like that, very occasionally I'll make Carbquik drop-biscuits that I've flattened out on the baking sheet so that I can slice them and use them as "bread".

My old "what do I do for breakfast?" routine is documented here...

http://www.xmlgrrl.com/blog/2009/08/03/chocolate-frosted-sugar-bombs/

Now it's seriously out of date! In fact, I rarely eat breakfast anymore, preferring a mini-IF till I get hungry nearer to lunchtime.

E2b9c679315c7c9c7265783dde89f350
0
1303 · March 24, 2011 at 10:44 PM

If it weren't for the teff, that would technically be a grain free bread. If you're only trying to go off gluten and want a lower carb bread, then it sounds like an ideal replacement (no chemicals). I'm not sure if you're just trying to go gluten free, or if you're going paleo, though? If paleo, this isn't it, though it might be good for a transition. If gluten free, then I don't see why you couldn't try it. Be careful about eating too much of it, though, millet is goiterogenic (bad for thyroid), and since it's the first ingredient listed, I'm assuming that's the bulk of the bread.

I know that there's nothing like sopping up awesome yolk on a piece of toast, but you may want to consider trying your eggs on beef (like stir fry sliced beef), or sauteed spinach, or something like that. Even just cutting up an over easy egg and mixing it together works well.

E2b9c679315c7c9c7265783dde89f350
1303 · March 25, 2011 at 5:30 PM

You're welcome! If you need any *technically* primal or paleo baked goods recipes, I recommend checking out LifeAsAPlate.com - she has some awesome recipes that almost always turn out good. She even has a grain free bread recipe: http://www.lifeasaplate.com/2010/12/16/the-best-grain-free-gluten-free-sandwich-bread-in-the-history-of-man/

40e972023f7ec97a17b9794ab849df5f
151 · March 25, 2011 at 3:56 AM

OK, to all above... thanks from the bottom of my soon-to-be Pure Paleo Heart. If the "bread" isn't Paleo.... then I'll just check Mark's Daily Apple for "substitutes", and try to wean off of that too!!! I so appreciate the time you take to reply. Awesome!!!

Medium avatar
0
5629 · March 24, 2011 at 9:13 PM

I feel your pain, man! My mom used to call me the "dough-boy!" Haha, not because I was chubby, but because I LOVED bread as a kid (of course back then, I didn't realize it was PACKED with HFCS), and would roll the bread into little dough balls.

Kinda just have to give up on bread, and let it go.

84666a86108dee8d11cbbc85b6382083
2399 · March 25, 2011 at 11:31 AM

Similar here. Went from eating a pound of bread per day to not eating bread for a year (and counting).

A7aa74e9469f0f3a202d336105e3c658
-1
-2 · November 23, 2012 at 1:23 PM

We buy our Gluten Free bread from Gluten Free Palace. We usually buy all our gluten free products from there since they have a large variety of products and we can order online. They also offer gluten free recipes on their website and I remember reading a white bread recipe. I think you should take a look at it.

Answer Question

Login to Your PaleoHacks Account

Get Free Paleo Recipes