Fb2da7937d7040a99c34fc62b448aa49
1

Opinions on cheat meals, recommended ways to cheat on a paleo life style

by (35)
Updated about 24 hours ago
Created April 15, 2013 at 1:51 AM

So i've been following eating paleo for 7 weeks now. I've got the eating part down. I recently in the past 2 weeks added some protein powder and low fat dairy products.So now i'm eating meats, eggs, veggies, fruits, nuts, seeds, oils, sweet potatoes and rarely non fat greek yogurt and fat free feta cheese. My goal is to lose fat. In a previous question i was saying how i've gained weight in paleo. Not sure if it is muscle or fat. 2 reasons: 1) Scale went up 6 lbs. 2)Circumfrence measurements are the same 3) i look more shaped & cut. So that last reason #3 is what is confusing me. So since i haven't been getting the fat loss results as quick as i want, i'm fine tuning my meal plans. I am now doing 1,250 calories a day, 40% protein 30% carbs 30% fats. I came from 6 weeks of not really keeping track of my macros or calories but i still wrote what i ate. So when i logged it into my fitness pal i was eating about 1600-2000 calories a day and like 50% fat 35% protein 15% carbs. Since this was not giving me the results i wanted after eating like this for a month i am now going to reduce calories and fats and see how it works. I understand it takes time, but i honestly feel bigger as in fat and muscle. So the point of this post is that I've been trying to figure out how to incorporate cheat meals. I love eating paleo, but i love sweets and miss some of the unhealthy food sometimes. I have a history of following meal plans and diets and being so anal and 100% with them that all the strictness and discipline was pointless because i would end up binge eating. I am also in the process of over coming binge eating disorder and paleo has really helped me because it reduces my cravings and its not so restrictive. my main focus is just not to binge, if is slip up which i have been doing better with. Does anyone have any recommendations of incorporating cheat meals into this life style? without it stalling my goals or having too much of an effect on all my hard work? Also what are you opinions on cheat meals?? i find it a very interesting topic. can't wait to here back on what everyone has to say. Thanks :)

Fb2da7937d7040a99c34fc62b448aa49
0 · April 15, 2013 at 3:52 PM

next day but what i do is have that cheat meal midday. make sure it fits my calories for the day (that way i don't think, oh its my cheat day ill go 500 calls over board) it helps me stay in control. and just drink lots of water after and the next day.

Fb2da7937d7040a99c34fc62b448aa49
0 · April 15, 2013 at 3:52 PM

all the sugar my body was not used to and this was after following paleo for a month. I didn't cheat for another 2 weeks after that and then this past friday i actually knew i was due for a cheat meal cause i was getting cravings, and sometimes if i don't take care of them occasionally it grows stronger and will turn into an over indulgence. but i had a lunch size order of pad thai noodles, ate the whole thing and felt great. So its really all about listening to your body, don't make yourself sick. I understand after some cheat meals that will lead to other cravings through out the day or the

Fb2da7937d7040a99c34fc62b448aa49
0 · April 15, 2013 at 3:50 PM

on strict paleo i have been able to incorporate some cheat meals. what i am starting to do is have one cheat meals once a week. but only one meal, not a cheat day or let that cheat meal turn into a binge. it's all about control and trusting your self. I've had a cheat meal where is was my bday and i ordered one of this egugantic slices of red velvet cake from the cheesecake factory. I was starting to get full after a 1/3 of the cake but since it was my bday i made it an excuse to force the rest down. I felt HORRIBLE physically, i seriously fell asleep for 10 hours after that midday cause of

Fb2da7937d7040a99c34fc62b448aa49
0 · April 15, 2013 at 3:48 PM

Thanks eva, i have came to the thought that maybe i am just at a healthy weight and my body does not want to lose fat. I mean i'm 5'5 at 176lbs which is pretty heavy on the scale for that height but i have a ton of muscle. I'm athletically in great shape, and my fat is actually distributed where i do not look 176, i look 140-135. but i do have a "look" that i am going for. and i want to reach that goal. yes being healthy is important to me.. but the thing is i've always been pretty healthy, never high cholesterol or blood pressure or sugar levels, then again i'm only 20 years old. After 30 day

Total Views
1K

Recent Activity
C6f441a3410394366ef567ebe2d55d00

Last Activity
28D AGO

Followers
0

Get Free Paleo Recipes Instantly

3 Answers

C6f441a3410394366ef567ebe2d55d00
1
499 · April 15, 2013 at 2:19 AM

cheat meals defeat the purpose of a paleo lifestyle in my experience. As a past binge eater, I tried to incorporate cheat meals into my lifestyle, but all it ended up doing was make me feel like crap and gain weight. When I am fully paleo it can definitely be hard sometimes when I have the inevitable craving for sweets, but when I weigh that 2 minute pleasure from cheesecake followed by regret/bloating against how good it feels to actually be healthy, it's no contest. Also, what may be contributing to your cravings are the artificial sweeteners found in almost all protein powders (trust me, I used to think that was one of the healthiest things out there) or even maybe the dairy. Try taking those two things out of your diet and replace them with fat (which will help satiate you)

2436f4e6d010656b346629a77e9599dd
0
270 · April 15, 2013 at 4:20 AM

You may be gaining weight because that's a healthier weight for you. Even though it sounds strange when you're steeped in modern culture healthier does not necessarily always mean thinner. You might want to find some other ways to evaluate your health as you're experimenting, maybe have a doctor order some before/after blood tests for fat profiles and blood sugar management. If it turns out that you have to choose between optimal health and looking the way you want to look, at least you can make that choice with full information!

Thanks for asking the cheat question. I just finished Whole30, which worked great for me, and have been trying to work in the occasional brownie or whatever, but have so far been finding that I can't really keep it "occasional". I'm interested to see what other folks say on this.

Fb2da7937d7040a99c34fc62b448aa49
0 · April 15, 2013 at 3:52 PM

next day but what i do is have that cheat meal midday. make sure it fits my calories for the day (that way i don't think, oh its my cheat day ill go 500 calls over board) it helps me stay in control. and just drink lots of water after and the next day.

Fb2da7937d7040a99c34fc62b448aa49
0 · April 15, 2013 at 3:52 PM

all the sugar my body was not used to and this was after following paleo for a month. I didn't cheat for another 2 weeks after that and then this past friday i actually knew i was due for a cheat meal cause i was getting cravings, and sometimes if i don't take care of them occasionally it grows stronger and will turn into an over indulgence. but i had a lunch size order of pad thai noodles, ate the whole thing and felt great. So its really all about listening to your body, don't make yourself sick. I understand after some cheat meals that will lead to other cravings through out the day or the

Fb2da7937d7040a99c34fc62b448aa49
0 · April 15, 2013 at 3:50 PM

on strict paleo i have been able to incorporate some cheat meals. what i am starting to do is have one cheat meals once a week. but only one meal, not a cheat day or let that cheat meal turn into a binge. it's all about control and trusting your self. I've had a cheat meal where is was my bday and i ordered one of this egugantic slices of red velvet cake from the cheesecake factory. I was starting to get full after a 1/3 of the cake but since it was my bday i made it an excuse to force the rest down. I felt HORRIBLE physically, i seriously fell asleep for 10 hours after that midday cause of

Fb2da7937d7040a99c34fc62b448aa49
0 · April 15, 2013 at 3:48 PM

Thanks eva, i have came to the thought that maybe i am just at a healthy weight and my body does not want to lose fat. I mean i'm 5'5 at 176lbs which is pretty heavy on the scale for that height but i have a ton of muscle. I'm athletically in great shape, and my fat is actually distributed where i do not look 176, i look 140-135. but i do have a "look" that i am going for. and i want to reach that goal. yes being healthy is important to me.. but the thing is i've always been pretty healthy, never high cholesterol or blood pressure or sugar levels, then again i'm only 20 years old. After 30 day

3491e51730101b18724dc57c86601173
0
8042 · April 15, 2013 at 3:28 AM

I eat 65 - 75% fat and I've lost 60 lbs. I eat around 1500 - 2000 calories at least. Why are you afraid of fat???

My cheat meals are few and far between--birthdays and anniversaries, that's 3times a year max. I eat a good paleo meal with perhaps a grainy side and a gooey dessert and I'm good for several months.

Answer Question

Login to Your PaleoHacks Account