Thought the comics were funny. But the accompanying link with them was interesting. They took run of the mill soy sauce and analyzed it for gluten content. Less than 5 ppm - lower than the 20 ppm threshold for calling something gluten-free.
Now I've never been sensitive to gluten, but I do use wheat-free tamari. Guess I didn't bother looking through the wool pulled over my eyes. I do prefer my wheat-free tamari flavor-wise versus crappy run-of-the-mill soy sauce, might just stick to premium soy sauce and ditch the wheat-free hype.
Of course, the fact that wheat-proteins do not survive the fermentation process probably means that soy proteins are also unlikely to survive it. Maybe it's time to deflate the coconut amino bubble as well?
See: http://www.soya.be/gluten-free-soy-sauce.php And the report itself (it's in Dutch): http://www.soya.be/reports/gluten-free-soy-sauce.pdf