Curious about this one, cause I haven't yet developed the taste for Chopin, which is notably distilled from potatoes. Most other vodkas (Grey Goose, Absolut, etc) are distilled from wheat. Anyone know if they contain gluten or not?
Technically there should be no gluten because the definition of distillation is to evaporate the alcohol and recondense it so that all the impurities are removed. However, I have had bad luck with wheat sourced spirits; and, I attribute that to cross contamination at the factory. It's very easy to make pure alcohol from distillation, however once it's made if you're in a factory that processes wheat, it's easy for some to get in there after it's distilled.
Honestly I don't think it is the substrate but the groups who use potato seem to be more legit and produce a better product. It's just a sign that they care about their product. I'd be surprised if anyone could taste the difference.