After reading Dr. William Davis' Wheat Belly, I started wondering whether the Cinnamon flavored Trident gum I have been chewing actually contains gluten. He made the comment that sometimes gluten is used in the powder to prevent gum from sticking to its wrapper, but he never said which brands.
Does anyone know if Trident or even Orbit gums are gluten-free?
There are plenty of gums out there that don't have a ton of wacky ingredients. (Unless you count xylitol or stevia, which some people would.)
Can't find these at Walgreens or a gas station, but they're at Whole Foods and most mom & pop health food stores. (Possibly even TJs, although I haven't looked for them there.) No aspartame or BHT! :-) (And I'm guessing no gluten because they're not wrapped in paper with that powder/corn starch anyway.)
Peelu cinnamon ---> but they have several different flavors
*The one drawback I've found to these gums is that they're delicious for about 10 seconds but then lose all flavor!
Don't be scared of the prices on the website...single packs are cheap at WF.