Are there any of you who have problems drinking wine? I was under the impression that distilled spirits and wine were gluten-free, and that one only needed to avoid beer. Then I found this article:
So now I am concerned. Drinking wine does not cause me any problems that I am aware of--as opposed to eating bread which causes digestive issues. However, as stated in several areas on this website, just because something does not cause digestive distress does not mean it is safe to consume. In the interest of being gluten-free is wine a safe bet?
Has anyone done any extensive research on this and if so would you offer any brand recommendations?
As an extremely sensitive celiac, I have never had a bad experience with wine. Ever. And I drink a lot of wine.
I will say that I have had reactions to certain whiskies (even expensive ones--particularly from Kentucky); distillation removes any wheat impurities BUT post-distillation practices vary. Gin is also a bad offender. I will say this--Jameson's, Smirnoff (and other quality vodkas), and any good Scotch are free and clear "clean" in my book.
I base the preceding comments on actual experience, not theoreticals. While it's possible that adhesives in wine barrels could contaminate wine, I simply have never experienced a negative effect.
Don't recommend distilled spirits derived from grain. Conventional wisdom states that distillation removes gluten, however, I have too many patients that continue to react to them. As far as wine is concerned: Typically wine is gluten free, however, some manufacturers use a grain based adhesive to afix the lids on the fermentation barrels. Therefor, it is technically possible to be glutenized with some brands of wine. I would check with the individual manufacturers on this.
All the best, Dr. Osborne
Frey wines don't use oak barrels in their winemaking. also, glue isn't used in oak barrels, but occasionally a type of wheat-paste is used to help seal the lining in the barrels. All wines get filtered extensively before bottling, so any remnants of gluten, if any was used in the winemaking, pretty much get filtered out. Frey uses no gluten.
If you do check with the producers, will you please post back. over at the gluten zap board they recommend couturi. And not franzia. They are using gluten test kits.
Also check with celiac.com for this sort of info. http://www.celiac.com/gluten-free/topic/56117-wonder-why-you-may-be-reacting-to-some-wines/
I'm also a sensitive celiac, many vodkas and gins cause me trouble. I researched about this after getting sick from drinking vodka. I came to conclude that vodkas are not necessarily gluten free especially the ones that are wheat based. potato vodkas are fine.
I never had any problem with wines. it doesn't matter what kind of wine, in my book, wines are absolutely gluten free drink.
I find that Rums to be safe too.
I go on these sights to get info on gf products. My family has several members who have celiac disease. I must say, I'm surprised to read of people who say they have no reaction to whiskey! Are you kidding me? The cost doesn't matter. Don't you know the main ingredient in whiskey is some type of grain? I'e like to know if Charles Shaw wine is gf so I think I'll contact them directly. To say you haven't had a reaction just isn't good enough doe mw. Who are your doctors? Anyone research the affect on the villi?
Since I have gone gluten free... I have found that when I eat something with wheat in it I get balloted. and Everytime I drink a glass of Franzia Wine I feel balloted. What is in this wine??? I have tried to find what is in it but no luck???
I have no reaction with shiraz from Charles Shaw.... I cleansed for a few days and ate only pea soup that I made, so no chance of unknown glutening would happen, and was totally awesome with that one. Will do the same for their other ones and post the results :) happy! also, I have read that some (many) wines and spirits have flavoring or "fining" agents added post distillation to adjust or correct the flavor of the product (including barley malt) . so not only be aware of the oak barrels and flour paste used, but also ask makers about any "additives" used. Stress that this is a question of allergies and that you need to know so you know which of their varieties you can safely drink. That should help them understand the reason for the questions and make them more comfortable and honest when answering. xoxox
To drink or not to drink: Alcohol 4 Answers
How Do You React to Gluten? 36 Answers