Besides the fact that it's soy and therefore horrible, I'm a sushi-holic...but I'm ditching my 90/10 ideals for 0 wheat period, full as if I'm celiac
What do you like to use instead? Since most all soysauce have wheat too
I have celiac, love Chinese food, and have learned to cook convincing substitutes at home. San-J Organic Wheat-Free Tamari and Eden Naturally Brewed Tamari are both widely available, well-made, and make an excellent substitute for light soy sauce or Kikkoman in recipes or at the sushi bar. The San-J is even available in little packets... I keep some in my car for when we go to sushi restaurants.
For a (not particularly paleo, but flavor-perfect) gluten-free substitute for the dark soy sauce often called for in Chinese recipes, mix 3 parts tamari with 2 parts molasses.
Note that Eden also makes an "Organic Imported Tamari" that is made in Japan using old-school methods. It's a superb standalone condiment, but less good in recipes.
You could also try either Bragg's Aminos or Coconut Aminos. I use the Bragg's and am completely satisfied with the flavor (after coming from eating soy sauce and rice almost daily for years).
If youre looking for soy sauce to use at home, you surely can find completely wheat-free versions, usually called Tamari (but be warned that not every tamari is indeed free of wheat). At any rate here is a killer tasty one i use: http://www.edenfoods.com/store/product_details.php?products_id=106970
If youre at a restaurant i would indeed avoid all their sauce, soy included. They will 99% of the time have not only wheat, but prolly HFCS (especially if they offer "low sodium" soy sauce).
I've tried a squeeze of lemon on sashimi, with or without wasabi, and that's pretty tasty. By the way, what most places serve as wasabi is actually a mixture containing horseradish and cornstarch. Ask for the real thing.
San-J Organic Wheat-free Tamari for this celiac gal. My husband, who normally hates my "funny" food, cannot tell the difference; and make sure the label plainly states "wheat-free" because the two are not mutually exclusive.
I'm a huge fan of San-J Tamari and they do have a gluten free version. Coconut aminos are also excellent, but there's something just a little fruity about it- like carob vs cocoa, close, but not perfect. I think it's lacking a little of that umami factor on its own, but, if you add just a dash of Thai fish sauce or anchovies to your aminos, it's a total replacement for soy sauce, and probably more nutritious as well.